Read 1 Corinthians 10

“So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.  Give no offense to Jews or to Greeks or to the church of God, just as I try to please everyone in everything I do, not seeking my own advantage, but that of many, that they may be saved.” 1Cor. 10:31-33

Giving up my rights for the sake of someone else? Laying aside my freedoms for another? Not an idea readily embraced by anyone, anywhere; especially not the Corinthians, and especially not me.  But, ultimately, that is Christ’s call on my life – “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.” Matthew 16:24. And, “let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.” Matthew 5:16

Eating and drinking are fairly mundane activities, but the Corinthians were really struggling with them.  Some were literally eating and drinking sacrifices made to idols, knowing they were sacrifices made to idols, while others played legalistic police, adamant that one couldn’t even eat or drink food sold in the marketplace because it might have been a sacrifice.  For some, their freedom in Christ meant they could do whatever they wanted, right?  No condemnation? No law? No restrictions? No bounds?

Oh, wouldn’t I like to think so at times! But, no.

I have not been set free from sin and death to live a life fulfilling my own selfish desires ‘just because I can.’  No. I am set free to live my life for Christ.  “But to live is Christ; to die is gain.” Philippians 1:21. Everything I do is to God’s glory, for His purpose.  Paul lays out that purpose in the end of chapter 10 – ‘that they may be saved.’  I set aside my own rights and desires so that others can see God’s glory and know His salvation.

Today’s author: Sean and Rebecca Jamerson

Leave a Reply

