Read 1 Corinthians 1

“But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong.” 1 Corinthians 1:27

I played with dolls this week. One of them was a mermaid, Ariel I believe. I’m not sure of the name of the other one but it was a girl doll. That’s not something I usually do. In fact, it’s something that I would normally have zero interest in or desire to do. But at least for a moment that changed. What happened? A two year old girl named Annie.

As part of our mission trip to Pullman Washington we stayed in homes of church members. Lynn and I stayed with a wonderful couple, Ben and Chelsey and their two children Annie, age two, and Owen, age six months. Owen was a happy little boy. Annie was a charming and delightful little girl. She quickly took to Lynn, smiling, hugging, and gazing at her with her beautiful blue eyes. Me, not so much. She would cling tightly to Ben or Chelsey or even Lynn when I was around.

I tried to win her heart, but to no avail. That is until our last day. For some reason on this day she reached out to me. She asked me to read her a book. It was about cows that could type. Then we moved on to the dolls. I was asked to hold Ariel and the other doll in my lap while Annie did some other important task. (Lynn has a pic to prove it.) I held them gladly, excited that I was finally getting to be in the inner circle with Annie.

A precious little two year old got me to do something that was completely against my nature. She got me to do things no one else could have forced me to do, no matter how strong or intelligent they were.

God is that way. He does not win the hearts of the world He loves by force. Or by impressive buildings. Or even well written doctrinal statements. (As important as these things are.) God wins the hearts of the world when normal people do extraordinary things because of His love in their hearts. Things like loving a neighbor in a time of need. Like forgiving when it’s undeserved. Like sacrificing to meet the needs of someone we don’t even know and may never see this side of heaven. Simple things that God uses in a powerful way to eternally change the hearts of a sin hardened world.

Today’s author: Monty Pierce

Leave a Reply

