Read Matthew 28

Hello, Christians of FBC Hallsville. I am writing this to you knowing full well that I am a failure; not only in the sense that I have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God (Romans 3:23), but that I have failed in one of the most important orders our Lord has given us. The reason I know this is that there are “less than one percent” of Iran’s population who are Christians, and this is not even the lowest Christian population on the globe. In Matthew 28, Jesus tells us to fulfill the Great Commission, and yet I feel that I, we even, have failed. Not because of some belief deep inside ourselves, but because of the sheer fact that in some countries in the world, the number of Christians only number in the thousands.

I have heard people say, and I have even said, that God has given me a heart for ‘so and so’, whether it be Dallas or Houston or Hallsville. He doesn’t tell us to go just unto Hallsville, or Houston, or Dallas, He tells us to go unto the world, the WHOLE world. Our job is not solely to support missionaries or pray for missionaries (though we should continue doing this), our job is to BE missionaries. I believe that spreading the Gospel is just as important as reading the Gospel, for Christ says, “If you love me, you will keep my commandments” (John 14:15); thus we must spread the Gospel. If we truly love our neighbors as ourselves, we will share the Gospel.

One may say they are spreading the Gospel when they are helping a neighbor by simply committing the act, and, at most, handing the beneficiary a tract or brochure, thereby following the tried and ‘true’ maxim of, “Spread the Gospel, and if necessary, use words”. However, when Phillip shared the Gospel with the Ethiopian (Acts 8:28-40), he shared the gospel using words. Ok, I’m going to throw out a hypothetical situation for those who disagree. Let’s say a starving man comes to your door in the middle of the night. You give him bread, you say, “Peace be with, and I will pray for you”, but that is all. That is NOT sharing the Gospel. Gospel means good news, and the good news is not “Peace be with you; I will pray for you.” It IS saying, “God came down to earth, died for your sins, and rose from the grave.” So, I’m going to give you that scenario again. The man comes to your door; he asks for bread; you give him bread, and then you say, “I want you to meet my friend Jesus…”. The scenario before was good, yes, but this is BEST, sharing bread then sharing the Bread of Life.

Again, the very fact that there is less than one percent population of Christians anywhere in the world speaks volumes about the extent of our failure. The hard cold truth is that we, as twenty-first century Christians, have botched our job. Some may say that though the Great Commission is an important commandment it is not the most important commandment. This is true, seeing as how the greatest commandment is to love God with all your heart, mind, soul, and strength (Matthew 22:37). However, doesn’t Jesus tell us that if we love him, we will obey his commands? So begin a revival. I implore you. Start with yourself. Do something drastic, something life-changing, something fanatical. Wait, did I just ask you to be a religious fanatic? If you did not recognize it the first time, then yes, I did. Be fanatical, be insane, and be Christ-like.

Okay, so let’s get on to the encouraging part, through the fire to become gold, eh? Jesus is risen! He is risen indeed! I think sometimes we forget the magnitude of that. Our Lord God, Elohim, the Creator, decided to come down to earth in physical form. Get this, our God, the holy incorruptible God, came down to our fallen corrupted world, to save us, we who were at enmity with God. When you think of the shadows of the night, we were the shadows, and every despicable thing humanity has thought up, we were. But God came down to save us, to save humanity. Then, He conquered death, the unconquerable enemy of humanity, by coming back to life and ending our fear of death forever. So, not only did God save us from our sins, He saved us from death, and only in three days!!! That’s some James Bond stuff right there.

Today’s author: Ethan Jamerson

